Testimonials

In the Dominican Republic, kiteboarding mecca thrives on balance.
”Seriously, the only living things I saw when I arrived here were two German shepherds,” said Stefan Ruether, a former stunt actor who owns the Kitexcite Kiteboarding School. Kitexcite is the oldest school with the most instructors (12) certified to teach. Ruether is widely credited as being one of the first instructors to give Dominican youngsters a chance to fly; some of them are now world champions …”
Kiteboarding in the Dominican Republic
By early afternoon, I’d progressed from dragging myself along the water with the kite, without the board, to being able to launch myself for 50-foot runs. I didn’t realize how exhausted I was until a dark line of storm clouds peaked over the horizon. I made my way back to the beach, and, famished, found an open-air restaurant and wolfed down rice, beans and stewed chicken, before …”

Good evening Stefan,
We didn’t have a chance to say goodbye and thank you for the amazing time we had with your team. Everyone was professional, patient and very knowledgeable. We really appreciated our experience and we’ll definitely come back hopefully sooner than later.
Thank you again.

Jonathan & Marie-Ève
”Thank you Stefan Kitexcite for putting together this video and for making such a memorable experience! We had a wonderfull time at Cabarete. It was a fun learning environment with wondefull kitexcite staff and im ecstatic to finally be able to kiteboard. Hope to be back soon!”

Juventas Telsinskas

Hi Stephane, I had such an awesome time learning to Kite in Cabarete a couple weeks ago. your instructions were precise and easy to follow, your staff was very helpful and thank god you had equipment so I may learn in low winds. I’ll be back soon to further my skills as a Kite Surfer. Take care and thanks again.”

Marc A LizotteMarc Andre Lizotte

”Stefan at Kitexcite hands down was the best instructor! I was so glad to have been linked up with him for my kite surfing lessons. As i looked around, he was the only one who used walkie talkies to help his students excel with the learning process. I dont know how the others did it not having one. This alone was the key component to learning more quickly than others. He is very knowledgeable, experienced, patient, and attentive. He wants to see his students become successful in a safe way. I had had some kiting experience 5 years ago with some traction kites, but new to this sport. By the 3rd day i got up on the board, lots of falls, but i was getting up. This made my trip and I had an amazing time! Now to keep up with what i learned and only get better! I def would love to come back. Hands down one of my best trips and Stefan helped make my trip and experience one i will never forget!!!”

Visited May 2016

Heather L

This is without a doubt the best school to learn or improve ones skills.

Stefan, who runs Kitexcite, has been kitesurfing and giving lessons for years. And one of the many things that makes Stefan #1, is that he is not only passionate about kitesurfing, but he cares greatly about the progress of the people he teaches.
Like many other reviews here, a good teacher makes all the difference in learning or improving in this sport. Stefan teaches in such a way that you are learning safely and efficiently and having fun.
I stumbled upon Kitexcite by accident (as in I didn’t research but met him on the beach), and since then a few of my friends have taken lessons with Stefan, and each one of them told me they couldn’t believe how lucky it was that we found him.
The one thing I would recommend is that you try to reserve in advance. Stefan has always fit in my friends and I, but there are a lot of people that travel to Cabarete just to take private lessons with Stefan.
Enjoy!
Visited May 2016
Moses212

Incredible experience with Kitexcite!

I had the best experience working with Stefan at Kitexcite to learn kiteboarding! It was my first introduction to the sport and I was not sure what to expect in terms of being able to catch on or progress during one week in Cabarete, DR. I am thrilled with how everything went and can’t wait for our next trip back!
Stefan was wonderful to work with booking the lessons and the whole way through. As mentioned by other reviewers, he sent videos prior to the lessons to help me get acquainted to some of the terms and basics of kiteboarding which were helpful to make the most of 1:1 lesson time together.
I started with beginner lessons and was very impressed with the methodology Stefan followed. The process was calculated and ensured I was learning the right techniques to progress to next level. After becoming comfortable with flying and controlling the kite on land, only then did we move into body dragging with the kite through the water. After enough practice body dragging, only then did we add the board to the equation. This methodology really helped me to advance and learn kitesurfing one step at a time without becoming overwhelmed and floundering in the water without understanding where to focus my attention. This process seems to be a stark contrast from other kiteboarding schools that put students in the water with the kite and board very quickly, and I saw many students struggling to put it altogether, never able to really get up on the board or control the kite.
Additionally, the use of the radios was a game changer. Rather than wondering where I was going wrong and spending lots of energy trying to figure it out blindly, or once I came back to shore, I was able to receive immediate feedback from Stefan over the radio while I was in the water. This really helped to correct mistakes and make the most of my time during the lessons.
Finally, Stefan has the best arsenal of equipment. Based on wind and my progression, I was able to utilize different boards, kites, and harnesses to be able to adjust to conditions and my advancements in learning. And it’s all very high quality making it easier to learn!
I would HIGHLY recommend Kitexcite and Stefan to anyone looking to learn or advance their kiteboarding. He is truly committed to his students and customizing lessons to ensure the most progress is achieved. Having instructed over 16,000 students, his experience is vast and methodology proven. Kitexcite is hands down the best place to go for kiteboarding lessons!

Visited June 2016

Julie G

Best kiteboarding teacher anywhere
Stefan at Kitexcite in Cabarete, DR is the best kiteboarding instructor I have ever experienced! His attention to detail is extraordinary and uses so many helpful tips and techniques to help people learn the sport. He has a lot of high end equipment to use and the radios really help the learning process. Stefan taught me 5 years ago and taught my girlfriend Julie this week. It was amazing to see her fast progression, she was up and riding well on Day 4 and staying upwind on Day 5, something I’ve never seen before! Stefan’s instruction made all the difference. I can’t say enough good things about Stefan and Kitexcite.

Visited June 2016

Boulder, CO
Reviewed March 25, 2016

Stefan is one of the best teachers I have had in any activity. He doesn’t waste your time or money, and gets right to the important stuff. I looked at other programs that had you watching videos while you were paying for time. Stefan gives you access to those videos to watch on your own time, this way you can get the most of your money while you are with him.
While I have experience sailing and windsurfing, I have never been very good with board sports, yet by the second day I was up on the board and already surfing around.

Visited March 2016
Storrs, Connecticut
Best kiteboarding teacher anywhere
Stefan at Kitexcite in Cabarete, DR is the best kiteboarding instructor I have ever experienced! His attention to detail is extraordinary and uses so many helpful tips and techniques to help people learn the sport. He has a lot of high end equipment to use and the radios really help the learning process. Stefan taught me 5 years ago and taught my girlfriend Julie this week. It was amazing to see her fast progression, she was up and riding well on Day 4 and staying upwind on Day 5, something I’ve never seen before! Stefan’s instruction made all the difference. I can’t say enough good things about Stefan and Kitexcite.

Visited June 2016

Boulder, CO
Incredible experience with Kitexcite!

I had the best experience working with Stefan at Kitexcite to learn kiteboarding! It was my first introduction to the sport and I was not sure what to expect in terms of being able to catch on or progress during one week in Cabarete, DR. I am thrilled with how everything went and can’t wait for our next trip back!
Stefan was wonderful to work with booking the lessons and the whole way through. As mentioned by other reviewers, he sent videos prior to the lessons to help me get acquainted to some of the terms and basics of kiteboarding which were helpful to make the most of 1:1 lesson time together.
I started with beginner lessons and was very impressed with the methodology Stefan followed. The process was calculated and ensured I was learning the right techniques to progress to next level. After becoming comfortable with flying and controlling the kite on land, only then did we move into body dragging with the kite through the water. After enough practice body dragging, only then did we add the board to the equation. This methodology really helped me to advance and learn kitesurfing one step at a time without becoming overwhelmed and floundering in the water without understanding where to focus my attention. This process seems to be a stark contrast from other kiteboarding schools that put students in the water with the kite and board very quickly, and I saw many students struggling to put it altogether, never able to really get up on the board or control the kite.
Additionally, the use of the radios was a game changer. Rather than wondering where I was going wrong and spending lots of energy trying to figure it out blindly, or once I came back to shore, I was able to receive immediate feedback from Stefan over the radio while I was in the water. This really helped to correct mistakes and make the most of my time during the lessons.
Finally, Stefan has the best arsenal of equipment. Based on wind and my progression, I was able to utilize different boards, kites, and harnesses to be able to adjust to conditions and my advancements in learning. And it’s all very high quality making it easier to learn!
I would HIGHLY recommend Kitexcite and Stefan to anyone looking to learn or advance their kiteboarding. He is truly committed to his students and customizing lessons to ensure the most progress is achieved. Having instructed over 16,000 students, his experience is vast and methodology proven. Kitexcite is hands down the best place to go for kiteboarding lessons!

Visited June 2016

Julie G

Reviewed March 25, 2016

Stefan is one of the best teachers I have had in any activity. He doesn’t waste your time or money, and gets right to the important stuff. I looked at other programs that had you watching videos while you were paying for time. Stefan gives you access to those videos to watch on your own time, this way you can get the most of your money while you are with him.
While I have experience sailing and windsurfing, I have never been very good with board sports, yet by the second day I was up on the board and already surfing around.

Visited March 2016
Storrs, Connecticut
 
 
This award-winning school uses radio helmets and optional Video suport to maximize instruction.Lonely Planet